No. of Recommendations: 1
I am new to Motley Fool and discussion board. I am 55 years old and want to real serious about investment strategy for retirement. I have been ivesting through an agent of Fidelty Investments for past few years. Limited success rate. My broker has left to go to Smith Barney.
According to broker, he will pay my transfer fees from Fidelty to Smith Barney and if he is not sucessful in growing my accounts the first year he will pay transfer fees to another brokerage house.

Or should an inexperienced investor like me consider online broker?

I would appreciate feedback on my situation.
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 0
What are Smith Barney's fees in comparison to Fidelity. I moved my account from a full-service brokerage (Morgan Stanley) to Fidelity and have been most pleased.

Donna
No. of Recommendations: 2
I am new to Motley Fool and discussion board. I am 55 years old and want to real serious about investment strategy for retirement. I have been ivesting through an agent of Fidelty Investments for past few years. Limited success rate. My broker has left to go to Smith Barney.
According to broker, he will pay my transfer fees from Fidelty to Smith Barney and if he is not sucessful in growing my accounts the first year he will pay transfer fees to another brokerage house.

I would appreciate feedback on my situation.

Start here:

http://www.fool.com/mutualfunds/mutualfunds.htm?source=LN

Read as much as you can. Take control of your own inveastments. That's the Foolish thing to do. Don't let the Wise broker take your money at all. Fidelity has some good funds. I prefer Vanguard, but I have some Fidelity in my 401K.

Until you know more, stick with mutuals. (I am so ignorant a have nothing but mutuals.) There are some good funds out there, but there are some high-priced losers, so don't go whoring after this broker.

JMO. Cliff
me(I am so ignorant a have nothing but mutuals.)

OCD: I have nothing but mutuals.

cliff