Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 6
Rich,

Your questions aren't as simple as they first might appear. As a professional money manager, I do have my opinions to your anwers. But let me boil down your questions to one simple answer:

You have to know yourself as an investor.

This is especially true if you are a DIY (Do it Yourselfer) because you are essentially your own portfolio manager. Therefore, you need to know yourself which entails knowing how much time you want to allocate to your portfolio, what kind of investor you are, what your performance goals are, etc.

I would suggest, if you haven't read it already, to read The Intelligent Investor by Benjamin Graham which has the anwers you need. If you're looking for superior returns you need to be an enterprising investor....and if this is true you need to 1) put significant time into your enterprise and 2) you need to know what you're really doing which entails business analysis, opportunity costs, etc.

Going on the information you've given, it appears to me you may be a defensive investor, whom is happy with satisfactory returns but not seeking superior returns (for ie: killing the indices). In this case, holding large companies even if they're selling at times a bit above IV may work for you. Your returns will suffer but you get tax deferral benefits and you need to spend far less time monitoring the changes in prices to IV. But I'm only going by your very small post and have no idea who you are as an investor.

But here's my direct answers to your questions:

Do you find that the IV's change significantly from quarter to quarter?

I find that it's far more common that market prices change significantly from quarter to quarter than the IV of a company. I've had stocks literally double in 3/6 months --and in 06 I had a company increase by 200+% -- which typically means the company's quoted market price has changed significantly to the company's business value.