Skip to main content
No. of Recommendations: 0
A couple of questions from a newbie here.
I plan on contributing to a Roth IRA for the first time, can I add
to an inherited Roth IRA or do I have to start a new account?

Next question concerns assent allocation. I have an IRA and a Roth
IRA (both inherited) that are currently in mutual funds. My wife
and I will be opening our own Roths this year and also an after tax
account, so that is five accounts. I want to get out of the mutual funds
and invest in 10 or so Rule Maker companies. Does it matter how I
divide the stocks among the different accounts? Should each account
have some diversification among the 10 stocks? My investing horizon
is very long term.

Thanks

Print the post Back To Top
Greetings, Dougiedo, and welcome. You wrote:

<<A couple of questions from a newbie here.
I plan on contributing to a Roth IRA for the first time, can I add
to an inherited Roth IRA or do I have to start a new account?>>

No, you cannot add money to an inherited IRA, Roth or otherwise. Further, unless you are the surviving spouse of the decendent, you must begin taking money out of that IRA. In general, you may take money from that IRA in as an annuity based on your life expectancy or receive all assets no later than December 31 of the fifth year following the IRA owner's death. If you elect to take the money as an annuity, then the first payment must be made no later than December 31 of the year following the year of death. See IRS Publication 590 (Individual Retirement Arrangements) for details. You can get that publication at http://www.fool.com/money/allaboutiras/allaboutiras.htm. The money you take from the Roth won't be taxed, but the money from a traditonal IRA will be. Also, if the owner of a traditional IRA was older than age 70 1/2 at the time of death, then the money must be taken at least as fast as it would have been withdrawn had the owner not died.

<<Next question concerns assent allocation. I have an IRA and a Roth