Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif
No. of Recommendations: 0
The scene:
For his second shot, my fellow competitor mistook my ball for his and hit it toward the green. When I got to what I thought was my ball, I discovered that it was someone else's (his, as it turned out) and that I thought he hit my ball. We fixed that problem (I dropped another ball as close as could be determined to where he hit the wrong ball and he went on to hit the correct ball) and we finished the hole.
The upshot:
All in the foursome discussed whether or not there should be a penalty. I maintained that under the new rules beginning this year that there was no penalty. I even dug out the rule book and it seemed to back up my opinion. Even then, there was no agreement. At the end of the round, we presented the problem to the proper authorities and it was ruled that there was a two-stroke penalty.
Although the rule is somewhat ambiguous, I maintain that, as long as there are no further shots made with the wrong ball (as was the case), there shouldn't be a penalty.
What say you?
Print the post  


What was Your Dumbest Investment?
Share it with us -- and learn from others' stories of flubs.
When Life Gives You Lemons
We all have had hardships and made poor decisions. The important thing is how we respond and grow. Read the story of a Fool who started from nothing, and looks to gain everything.
Contact Us
Contact Customer Service and other Fool departments here.
Work for Fools?
Winner of the Washingtonian great places to work, and Glassdoor #1 Company to Work For 2015! Have access to all of TMF's online and email products for FREE, and be paid for your contributions to TMF! Click the link and start your Fool career.