Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 2
I am new at PRO. I just read Catch-up Report #3 which recommends buying SBUX - price at the time of report around $57. The fair value shown in the PRO Recommendations Table is $55. What are we supposed to do? Wait for SBUX to come down to fair value or just disregard fair value and buy at today's price of $58.25.
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 4
Hi RetiredEE,

Well, this is very apropos with another thread here about price.

Starbucks was below $55 on Monday (as the report was being put together) and it's pushing $59 now. That's quite a difference in one week. That said, we still rate the stock a Buy right now, believing that investors will earn a worthwhile return with reasonable risk from this price. That said, it may move to hold if it runs much higher, since it would appear to be about a year or more ahead of itself then...

Here's what you can do. A few choices that may depend on your portfolio, how invested you are, cash, etc:

1. Buy the other stocks we've recommended so far (there are 11 in total). And make a note to buy SBUX on a dip closer to $55, $56.

2. Buy SBUX now, as recommended, knowing that it's just half of our desired position. We'll be looking to add to our stake if we get lower prices again.

3. Write puts instead of buying right now. SBUX puts pay well. You could "sell to open" puts (1 for every 100 shares you could buy) at the strike of your choosing (say, $56, $55) and target your desired buy price. At least you'll make income if the price doesn't come, and you can write puts again.

Selling May or July $55 puts, or May or July $57.50s (more aggressive) could both work. Either one.

Finally, keep in mind that fair value is the price from which to expect a desired rate of return. It's still a good buy price. Of course, it's an estimate, with easily a few-dollar leeway (although that cuts both directions).

Does this help?

Best,

Jeff