Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 7
Secondly, as i said earlier, i am not diabetic.

Pre-diabetes is a distinction without meaning and a term that I really dislike. It's more like the early stages of type 2 diabetes. And if you don't like the Metformin, then talk to your doctor about changing it to something else. There are many medications out there, and given your diet and exercise changes, he or she may decide it is not necessary at all. The thing is, unless you are a medical professional, you are not in a qualified position to know what your best course of treatment is. If you don't like or feel a level of trust with your doctor, then find another one. But you risk your health when you dismiss a doctor's prescribed treatment without a consultation.

I'm not a medical professional which is why I try to avoid offering medical opinions or advice. But since you seem to be avoiding speaking with your own doctor, I'll try to explain some biology based on my readings. When you go to sleep, your body does not shut down. All your life support systems continue operating to keep your heart pumping, your lungs breathing and your brain dreaming. Think of it as Power Saving mode, but you still require energy. But since you are sleeping, you are not taking in food. So the body pulls glucose stored in the body and uses it to keep the stove fire burning, and uses insulin to keep the amount of glucose under control.