Skip to main content
No. of Recommendations: 22
Seeing as this is my first post on this board, allow me a brief introduction. I am a CPA, but practicing in income tax rather than financial statements. I try to keep aware of the issues my financial statement preparing colleagues face, but I'm not an expert in them. However, I do think my personal distance from the day to day issues gives me the freedom to think in broader terms.

GAAP is intended to provide a consistent way of comparing apples to apples across all different businesses.

That is the way GAAP started out. But it has morphed over the years into a grotesque monster. And the upcoming IFRS aren't much better.

At its core, accounting is an attempt to present the financial performance and position of a business so that management and investors can make intelligent and informed decisions about the business. Income is reported when earned, expenses reported when incurred, assets and liabilities of the business fully disclosed.

The problem is that management always has more information about the business than investors. And management is the one that prepares financial information for the investors to use. So it becomes easy for management to mislead investors about the finances of a business.

Many of our current accounting pronouncements are nothing more than a reaction to a problem (usually a fraud by management) that has arisen at some company. If you follow all of the big frauds over the years, you'll usually find some new accounting rule following the fraud that is an attempt to keep that fraud from happening again.

I call that "legislating morality". And you simply can't write laws and rules that cause people to behave morally. Morality and fairness don't arise from laws, they arise from within the individual. Laws and rules simply allow society to define behaviors that will be punished in some way.