Skip to main content
No. of Recommendations: 0
I AM A 40 YR OLD SELF-EMPLOYED FIRST TIME FOOL

I HAVE A FEW QUESTIONS AND WOULD LOVE SOME FEEDBACK

1) I HAVE READ THE POSTINGS ON RESCUING A
DYING IRA FROM THE HANDS OF A DISINTRESTED INS. GUY. MY QUESTION IS CAN THEY (THE INS.GUY) PENALIZE ME FOR TRANSFERING THESE FUNDS TO ANOTHER ACCOUNT?

2) IF I LEAVE THIS ACCOUNT A REGULAR IRA. CAN I OPEN A ROTH IRA AND FULLY FUND BOTH IN THE SAME CALANDER YEAR.(IE 4K)

3) IF NOT WOULD IT BE BEST TO SELF-MANAGE THE ORIGINAL IRA, FULLY FUND THE ROTH AND
CONTRIBUTE AS MUCH AS POSSIBLE TO A SEP.

ANY INPUT WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED!

FOOLDOM IS FREEDOM

THANKS FOOLS!!
Print the post Back To Top
1) I HAVE READ THE POSTINGS ON RESCUING A
DYING IRA FROM THE HANDS OF A DISINTRESTED INS. GUY. MY QUESTION IS
CAN THEY (THE INS.GUY) PENALIZE ME FOR TRANSFERING THESE FUNDS TO
ANOTHER ACCOUNT?

Welcome, Adtech, I am not an expert at all, I am just replying to you on a few points I have learned, and the REAL smart folks here can touch up my reply! I want to show them I'm learning something around here & and am trying to pull my weight! ;-)

Regarding your first question, it depends on your particular account and company. Some take your money at the beginning, when you make each contribution and not at the end. Some don't take your money at all. If you roll it straight over into another tax-deferred retirement acct, you will not be assessed taxes. You can just call the company and ask them about fees for transferring.

2) IF I LEAVE THIS ACCOUNT A REGULAR IRA. CAN I OPEN A ROTH IRA AND
FULLY FUND BOTH IN THE SAME CALANDER YEAR.(IE 4K)