Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif
No. of Recommendations: 0
My company is laying me off at the end of February. I've already been offered a job in VA but between the costs for housing and daycare, I just couldn't make the numbers work. Basically I would be working just to cover those two costs.

So...what I am considering is moving to a very low cost of living area like IN for the next few years until TW is old enough for public school. I would find a part-time job to keep health insurance coverage and pay incidentals. I'll be receiving a small severance package that I can use to pay off my truck so my bills would basically only be living expenses.

A large part of me hates having to drop my boy off at school each morning while I go to work. I've always thought I'd love to be able to stay home with him but bills have to be paid. With the severance to pay off my truck and if we can minimize our living expenses, it might be feasible.

Has anyone done anything like this? Do you have any advice? What about suggestions for part-time work I could do at home so I could even avoid a small daycare bill?


P.S. Yes, I receive child support; it covers one-fourth of TW's current expenses.
Print the post  


What was Your Dumbest Investment?
Share it with us -- and learn from others' stories of flubs.
When Life Gives You Lemons
We all have had hardships and made poor decisions. The important thing is how we respond and grow. Read the story of a Fool who started from nothing, and looks to gain everything.
Contact Us
Contact Customer Service and other Fool departments here.
Work for Fools?
Winner of the Washingtonian great places to work, and Glassdoor #1 Company to Work For 2015! Have access to all of TMF's online and email products for FREE, and be paid for your contributions to TMF! Click the link and start your Fool career.