Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 13
Snoop, a welcome sight back from the antipodes, wrote:

As usual I defer to my favorite Florida legal expert (Albaby1) but I see a problem with your proposal. It would be very difficult for Bernard to avoid giving personal investment advice. Because both Bernard and TMF derive revenue from such an arrangement they would then be subject to SEC regulations. This would significantly change TMF's business model so I'm not sure they want to go there. To avoid such problems TMF would need to micro-monitor the premium boards (and the hosts to void TokyoJoe type issues) which is costly.

Hmmmm....I'm not a securities lawyer, and I can't claim any particular expertise in the field. However, my guess is that TMF could probably structure private boards for resale in such a way as to insulate themselves from liability for content, presumably in the same manner as the vanity press that once was Soapbox. There was some discussion on the matter on the Soapbox board back in May in the thread starting here:

http://boards.fool.com/Message.asp?id=1010035000072000&sort=id

TMF would claim that a content enabler (like a message board hoster, even for resale) isn't directly responsible for the content itself, but is more akin to a telecommunications common carrier. That seems a reasonable claim. It's not my field, but one thing's for sure - either way, the lawyers will make money. Cha-ching!

As for the prospect of TMF crossing that line in the sand and actually registering as an investment advisor, I think there is a real danger of potential damage to the brand.