No. of Recommendations: 0
I've been following, and sometimes participating in, the cash value vs term debate over the 
past few months.  From a quick survey of the archives, it appears that this debate has been 
raging since the dawn of this board.  My purpose here is not to extend the debate, 
but, hopefully, provide a means to end it.

I've seen this board's Don Quixote, Mike M, stand heroically against the hordes of 
"buy term and invest the difference" iconoclasts.  I've seen the debate get personal,
and, yes, sometimes ugly.  What I have never seen, however, is some structure for
the debate.

So a while back, I took my own research notes and started adding to them, based on
what I've learned following the debate.  Offered humbly below is the edited version.
I'm no expert and I claim no guarantee of accuracy in the content.  Also, I've tried
to be objective, but I'm sure some will read bias into my summary where it is 
incomplete or innaccurate.  Please don't attack me.  Add or clarify instead.

I think the framework can provide a means to structure the debate and, hopefully, end 
the endless statements of the same position by both sides in subtly different forms.  

I invite all to edit the bejeezusbells out of this until it is factually accurate
and then the debate will be done.  We can create a FAQ-like reference and let newbies
read the facts and decide for themselves.

In the sprit of community learning,

Paul

ANALYTICAL BREAKDOWN OF "PRODUCTS OFFERED THROUGH INSURANCE POLICIES

Product Offered			Benefit

Pure Insurance			Income for dependents to insure 
				comfortable standard of living in 
				the event of insured's early death

Guarantee of Insurability	Guarantee of future insurability at 
				reasonable rates (based on age only, 
				not uncertain future health status)

Death Benefit Flexibility	Pure insurance amount can be adjusted
				over time to reflect dynamic offset
				between insured's assets and dependent's
				future needs