No. of Recommendations: 12
some time ago I tried to address the question of what metrics were important to compare when evaluating these type money management firms and where does CNS fall in this scheme of things. I'm new at this and need help. Perhaps I can get Reitnut interested in a discussion of this?

Missash, I cannot comment specifically on CNS, as I have never spent much time analyzing how my former rival REIT asset managers manage their portfolios. (I did, however, learn something about Ken Heebner's CGM REIT fund from a client of ours, who said Mr. Heebner was something of a madman, placing huge bets on specific sectors). But, I have always maintained that management "philosophy, tactics and style" was a very important but much overlooked and ignored consideration in selecting one's asset manager, whether it be segregated all-REIT accounts or REIT mutual funds, open- or closed-ended.

In fact, you have inspired me to devote the upcoming issue of The Essential REIT to a general discussion of this topic. I hope to get it done early in the week following Thanksgiving. Accordingly, I will set forth here in this post only a broad outline of the issues that investors should look for or raise with their REIT managers. Of course, mutual fund investors never get to ask specific questions, but some of the following issues might be easily studied by looking carefully at the published mutual fund reports, as filed with the SEC.

OK, here is my list of a dirty dozen categories, which will be filled in with (perhaps too much) detail in the coming issue of the newsletter. If you could ask these questions, watch your prospective REIT asset manager squirm!

1. Performance Goals, i.e., how does the fund manager define "success?" What are their criteria for earning their fees, and why shouldn't we simply buy an indexed mutual fund or ETF and save on your fees?