Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 0
I am still a newb here, starting in 2016 with Stock Advisor, and while I agree with the following statement it always worried me that many were FAAANG stocks.

"You should feel comfortable holding these stocks for the long haul; not only do they have the strength to ride out downturns, but they're also built for powerful growth."

Now that the market is undergoing a correction largely on FAANG I am not sure I agree with the thesis that these have the strength to ride the downturn.

Perhaps it is my own error in that I have typically weighted my portfolios with 3-7% starter stocks and the bulk of the rest of your recommendations around 1-3%. Maybe that was not intended and therefore my error.

Does anyone else use a different strategy or feel differently about its intentions?

Looking forward,
Randall
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 1
Randall,

In reading your post, I believe you are not placing a proper time context on this little hiccup.

It hasn't been a full quarter yet let alone a year to properly judge whether the long-term performance is dead.

You should look at the actual price history of how these stocks move. Both NFLX and AMZN have had drops of 50% or more. They faced some of the same type of doubts about future business performance then then roared ahead 10x and more.

When you invest in these companies you are really investing in the management teams. They are the people that put new ideas into the business, the game changers.

Does that help you?

Gene
All holdings and some statistics on my profile page
http://my.fool.com/profile/gdett2/info.aspx
Gene,

Yes that certainly helps and what a great point! Especially when applied to stocks like Netflix.

You also made me realize that only looking at the overall movement of a single stock that I have continued to add to is misleading. Most of the buys from 2016 and even 2017 are still very healthy.

Looking forward,
Randall