No. of Recommendations: 8
Hello Fools

I'm an intern for the summer working with HG. As part of the experience we have to write up a company from their 10-K and explain the various aspects to other interns and analysts. I'm going to steal a page out of David's (TMFPencils) book... or as Monish Pabrai would say, "clone" his good idea and post my write up.

SNHY was my first stock in the 10-K challenge and at the time I didn't realize it was in HG. This write up is probably a bit long for a board post, so I apologize. I hope you find it useful.

Company: Sun Hydraulics (SNHY)

Business in one (long) sentence: Designs and manufactures hydraulic components (valves and manifolds) used in regulating fluid pressures that transmit power for controlling force, speed, and motion in industrial machinery (oil rigs, windmills, bucket trucks, winches and hoists).

Value Proposition: Sun Hydraulics competes on quality, reliability, price, value, speed of delivery and technological characteristics of its products and services. Products are offered in various sizes and versions, providing a wide selection to meet different conditions and requirements. The valves and manifolds manufactured by Sun Hydraulics are generally more reliable and are able to operate at higher flow rates and pressures than similar offerings from competitors. Additionally, they also create custom offerings for customers who may need smaller components.

Company Strategy and Advantage: Sun Hydraulics is a prime example of a high quality company. They have no debt, steady free cash flow, and great return on capital metrics. The ROA average over the last ten years is 16.6%. ROE averages 22% over the last 10 years, demonstrating a durable competitive advantage. The well above market ROE’s aren’t because they’re juiced by leverage. Did I mention they have no debt? This is despite opening a new factory in Florida and renovating an older one in England in 2013 and purchasing two smaller companies outright since 2011.