Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 46
Apparently yesterday was my day to deal with my widows and soon-to-be widows. And they happened to come in just the right order.

I should start by saying that I've been doing returns for these three clients for 10 years or so. So I have developed some rapport with them.

Let's start where I started, with the couple. The first few times I did their returns, I only saw the husband. He was a bit gruff in those early years - he had just retired as a fishing boat captain. A few years later I finally met his wife. She was much easier-going -- until we got down to business. She's not gruff at all, but very much a business-is-business kind of person.

A couple of years ago, she let me know that he was in the early stages of Alzheimer's. Since I see them only once or twice a year, it's been easy for me to see the progression. This year, he wanted to make sure we were deducting his flights to Hawaii - where the boat was kept. He hasn't been on his fishing boat in a decade. Physically, he's in pretty good shape, so this is probably going to be one of those long, drawn out, painful to watch affairs.

The middle client might have been the hardest. Her husband passed away just over a month ago. Once again, I didn't meet her until I had been doing their returns for 6 or 7 years. Over that time, I could see his health failing. I finally met her when he had to stop driving and she brought him in to the office. He was still reasonably sharp, although he struggled a bit with changes to the tax law. Kept wanting to do things the old way. Other than that, his organization and attention to detail was pretty good. The last couple of years, she became more involved in their taxes - asking questions (usually good ones) and gently correcting his mistakes.