Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 0
For perhaps 20 years now I've been preparing taxes on my Mac; originally using Turbotax, then switching to H&R Block's product about 10 years ago.

The software I used was usually about $40.

I know that H&R Block, Turbo Tax, and TaxAct all offer free online tax prep. (Block charges $9.99 for State taxes.)

I'm interested in opinions comparing these online services with software running on my own Mac.

Free sounds too good to be true. I can imagine a scenario where it asks me if I own a home, or have kids, and then tells me I don't qualify for the free filing.

I don't think my taxes are overly complicated. I do own a home, buy & sell stocks, and have kids and a job. My combined household income is less than $100K/year.

So, go online for free (or $9.99)? Or pay $40 like I've been doing every year for 20 years?
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 2
Call me excessively paranoid, but I won't do my taxes on line. I use TaxAct, for $15. Texas doesn't have a state income tax, so I have no need of TaxAct's state functionality.

I have no idea how well TaxAct runs on a Mac, though.

Eric Hines
No. of Recommendations: 1
I'm on the paranoid side myself. I also use Taxact and have for 10-15 years. It is nice to be able to handle your taxes offline.

Cheers
Vern
I know that H&R Block, Turbo Tax, and TaxAct all offer free online tax prep. (Block charges $9.99 for State taxes.)
I'm interested in opinions comparing these online services with software running on my own Mac.

Free sounds too good to be true. I can imagine a scenario where it asks me if I own a home, or have kids, and then tells me I don't qualify for the free filing. I don't think my taxes are overly complicated. I do own a home, buy & sell stocks, and have kids and a job. My combined household income is less than $100K/year.

==============================
According to the IRS website, https://apps.irs.gov/app/freeFile/jsp/wizard.jsp