Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 0
I was curious to see if anyone has used TaxAct. I downloaded it and tried it out. I don't know whether or not to trust it though. I am a full time college student with less than $5,000 a year income. So I don't think that my taxes are that complicated. The reason I'm concerned is because it says I should get a refund of $581, which is larger than I normally get.

What kind of experiences have you had with it? Heard any stories from others?

Christina
Print the post Back To Top
I have no experience with TaxAct, but it should be giving you the right result if you give it the right data. Possibly it's giving you the Earned Income Credit, for which you qualify if your earned income is less than about $10,000. (But there are lots of restricions - filing status, at least 25 yrs old, no one else can claim you as a dependent, etc.)

Note - if you are eligible for the EIC, it will probably be worth your while to revisit and amend your last few returns, as likely you missed it then as well.

Lorenzo
Christina,

I see by another of your posts that you're 26 and single, so I think it's almost certain that you're getting that Earned Income Credit. But you wouldn't have been old enough to receive it last year and earlier, so don't bother to go back and look. Have a close look at what TaxAct is doing for you. The EIC shows up on line 64 of Form 1040.

Lorenzo
Hopefully this won't get too long-winded or sound like a commercial. I chose TaxAct to do my taxes this year for a reason that is as much sentimental as practical. I have been using computer tax software since 1994 to do my taxes.

Here is a history lesson based on my experiences: