Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 0
TB, I am coming back to live on Fool here in hopes that there are some minds which are deep into the biotech sector.

I would love to ask you and other knowledgeable folks in this sector to throw out names of small to mid-cap companies who've already received PDUFA (FDA Approval) so that I can chart some of these names.

I am just learning to navigate the biocatalyst website.

I have one question:

After a Phase 3, if the drug is approved, does the drug still have to go before an FDA Adcom?

Let me refine my question: If a drug goes through Phase 3 with flying colors, would it not take a committee to approve that drug? Or, if the efficacy is so well explained, can just a few people - without meeting in committee to ask questions - approve said drug?

Thanks to anyone taking time to answer.

I'm going to school on biotechs like I went to school on crypto-currencies.

I seek volatility for trades and I have found it in this sector.

What I need to do is identify catalysts which would make me avoid dangerous biotechs.

Two catalysts are:

1. Never trade or hold a stock two weeks away from its next earnings.

2. Never trade or hold a stock two weeks away from its next announcement of Phase 1 or Phase 2 or PDUFA.

But I've made some solid wins, big wins, on biotechs which are trading into a catalyst and which sometimes present at investor seminars.

That said, if you're wanting to learn this hard to understand sector - where rewards are quick, but the risk is also dangerous - welcome aboard the train to self-education.

I will publish one chart next. And I will publish one website.

Then I will leave.

p.s. One addendum I will add which has helped me make maximum money in minimum time on certain trades: short ratio, or, the percentage of shares short.

I like finding stocks which are heavily shorted in all sectors, but especially biotech.