Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif
No. of Recommendations: 0
The author of the "Amber Spyglass" series (actually it's called "His Dark Materials") is Philip Pullman.

First one is "The Golden Compass," second is "The Subtle Knife," third is "The Amber Spyglass."

The world in this series mirrors our own, but each person has a shape-changing daemon as a constant companion. At maturity, one's daemon settles into a permanent form. The main character is a little girl who doesn't have parents and lives at a English university. running rather wild. Children have been vanishing and there is much speculation. Much of what you learn comes from the eaves-dropping activities of the litle girl.

At least all the books are out and you won't have to wait a year or two between books, like I did. If you like alternate realities with a spunky heroine, talking armor-wearing polar bears, and ancient but young-looking witches who don't feel cold and fly around on tree branches, and question the motives of estabished religions, you will like this series.

Print the post  


When Life Gives You Lemons
We all have had hardships and made poor decisions. The important thing is how we respond and grow. Read the story of a Fool who started from nothing, and looks to gain everything.
Contact Us
Contact Customer Service and other Fool departments here.
What was Your Dumbest Investment?
Share it with us -- and learn from others' stories of flubs.
Work for Fools?
Winner of the Washingtonian great places to work, and Glassdoor #1 Company to Work For 2015! Have access to all of TMF's online and email products for FREE, and be paid for your contributions to TMF! Click the link and start your Fool career.