Skip to main content
This Board Has Moved

This board has been migrated to our new platform! Check out the new home page at discussion.fool.com or click below to go directly to the new Board on the new site.

Go to the New Site
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 11
The discussion about whether or not to include metrics such as ROIC and DCF is an important one. When Rule Maker (Cash King) was first conceived it was presented as an investment philosophy that anybody could follow along with. Valuation was given little consideration. The idea was to pick quality companies, check out a few simple to calculate metrics, get a basic understanding of its business and prospects, compare it to its key competitors and make a decision to buy or not.

Unfortunately, investing is not as easy as many of us would like it to be or believed it to be in the not too distant past. I know that the more I learn, the more I realize there is to learn. Like Wolf, I'm studying for the CFA right now. I've also been reading a number of investing books (the latest was Graham's The Intelligent Investor).

It is important that we understand a company's financial statements (an area I hope I helped many to understand better in the past with my columns). It's important that we understand what type of returns a company is able to generate from its investments. It's important that we have an idea of what the value of a business is. We can't simply pull the wool over our eyes and invest blindly. While concepts such as ROIC and DCF can be quite difficult to understand, they can be explained in ways that we can all understand. It just takes time and patience on the part of both the teacher and the student.