Skip to main content
No. of Recommendations: 1
Alright, here's my story, props to anyone who makes it all the way through this post:

-Right after I got out of college I had A+ credit. Up until that point I had been great at keeping a balance on my credit card and then paying it off every month for about 4 years. Therefore, the credit card companies were willing to give me stupid amounts of credit.

-After I graduated, I fell on very hard times personally and professionally. I maxed out absolutely everything and had no way to pay it off. I had to get some sort of extension to my student loan, but managed to keep that out of collections. Everything else went to collections. This happened in late 2002.

-Since then, the collections people actually have left me along for a reasonable amount of time, and I've left them alone too. Was this a good strategy? Maybe not. Personally responsible? Definitely not, but I was in the process of getting my life back and really didn't want to worry about my dark financial past.

-After my credit bottomed out completely, I managed to get some secured lines of credit, pay them off, keep contracts, pay everything on time. In fact, my credit is actually about average now. I just got a new car and was approved through the primary lender, not one of those high-risk joints. Now, before you say anything, it's a cheap new car... nothing fancy, well within my means.

-So, here I am, 5 years later, now married and with a great job, a very manageable level of (current) debt (just a student loan and a car and a credit card I pay off every month), and actually starting to put some money away. Here is my problem: