Skip to main content
No. of Recommendations: 10
The original post has been pulled (I'm sure some reactionary bed wetting basement dweller) . Can you restate?

OK, I'll omit the slam against the sainted Obama, even though it is his economy and I blame him for the current economic conditions. Nothing but glory and praise is allowed when discussing The Mighty Obama.

I haven't worked in about a month, hence all of my time here on-line of late. I got a blast e-mail yesterday from my company to its new truck transport drivers - all 93 of us. Effective immediately, all of us have been let go until the first of the year - minimum.

I am an independent contractor, so it's technically not a lay-off, but the net effect is the same. I am a subcontractor to a union company that has an exclusive contract to move this company's new trucks. Us subcontractors are like temp workers to make it possible for the main contractor to avoid hiring more union help.

As per the contract between my company and the main contractor, all of its subcontractors have been terminated. It is the right of the main contractor to do so. Volume is down and has been for some time, since at least March.

When I first signed on, I was kept busy non-stop. I'd deliver a load, call the company, they'd fly me back down to San Antonio. I'd go to the yard in SA and call the main office in OKC. I'd have a choice of loads. I'd choose one and it would be locked on for me. In a few minutes the paperwork would be printed. I'd check out my trucks, sign the paperwork, and be on my way.

Since March, I'd deliver a load and go home (my expense) and wait for another opportunity. Sometimes the wait would be two weeks. The longest wait in between loads was six weeks. All the while the company kept telling us about the production/shipment projections in the near future, so keep the faith.