No. of Recommendations: 2
This is the situation I am in. I am 46 almost 47 years old. I was more or less forced into early retirement. I had been putting $200/month (for 16 years) in a 403B while working as a lab technician at the University of Tennessee. My 403B had grown nicely to about $206,000. I had worked my way up from $13,800 per year to $28,0000 per year. My female boss (German immigrant) comes in and says I am making too much money and says she can't afford me and has to let me go. So, I try and finish a masters in Education to become a teacher; I finish all the classwork and then FLUNK THE INTERNSHIP because I can't get the kids to pay attention. So, I go back to work in the basement animal facility of the Vet School making $15,000 a year cleaning animal cages. I do that for 10 months and say to myself I can't do this any longer. So, my old boss tries to hire me back at $18,000 a year. I go upstairs and work for her for 1 & 1/2 days and just get up and walk out. I just couldn't do the same work I'd been doing for $28,000 a year for $18,000 a year. I am the king of cheap I actually probably live on around $800/month. I had gotten on the IPS Funds website, while working in the Lab Animal Facilities, and they have a really good annuity calculator, really simple to use and figured out that I could make as much as I was making off my 403B using the 72t distributions as I was making cleaning animal cages. I told my wife I was through. She didn't care as long as I could help with the bills. I was lucky because my wife is a college professor with good health insurance and so I could get on her policy (a biggie!). So now I am living on like $17,000 a year and loving it. I am not really suffering at all. I never did like going to the malls and spending tons of money anyway. I am never going back to work. NOT IN THIS LIFE!
Print the post  

Announcements

What was Your Dumbest Investment?
Share it with us -- and learn from others' stories of flubs.