No. of Recommendations: 7
There have been lots of questions on PayPal's competition across different subscription services so, rather than answering each question one by one, I thought I would just write a separate post tackling what I believe are PayPal's potential business threats.

Please remember these are just my personal opinions and that I am not a professional analyst or anything like that; just an individual investor with a mediocre track record.

Let's start with the competitors to PayPal's flagship payments service:

Traditional Credit Card Rivals: PayPal's competition begins with traditional credit card rivals like AmEx, Discover, MasterCard, Visa, JCB (in Japan), and Unionpay (in China). These will obviously take POS (point-of-sale) and online market share and threaten profit margins in the regions in which they compete.

With a lower transaction fee, many merchants would prefer Paypal transactions which might mean future incentives from retailers to use this platform. More realistically, I would expect this to just further cut the margins of credit cards.

But, and this is important, PayPal's platforms still uses MasterCard, Visa, AmEx, Discover or another payment processing network to handle transactions. So, as of right now, PayPal and the credit card majors are coexisting in a tense love-hate relationship.

Recently competition between the credit card majors and PayPal have heated up. Visa Checkout and MasterCard's MasterPass are two products that are specifically geared towards competing with PayPal's One Touch platform. These two programs basically allow card holders to sign up their existing credit cards into the program and checkout at participating retailers in a quick and easy process that mirrors PayPal's One Touch's magical formula.