Skip to main content
Update
Non-financial boards have been closed.

Non-financial boards have been closed but will continue to be accessible in read-only form. If you're disappointed, we understand. Thank you for being an active participant in this community. We have more community features in development that we look forward to sharing soon.

Fool.com | The Motley Fool Community
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 4
Hey imp -

This is totally random thought that came up during the whole childbirth thread.

Ages ago, before DN came back, *I think* you asked about kid-friendly professions that might let you stay at home. Please ignore the rest of this message if that wasn't you. *grin*

If you are ever interested in a career change, I think you'd make an excellent tech writer. That's what I do for a living - I actually got a merit award for it. It still blows my mind because I was the last person in my group of college friends that I pictured writing for a living. My proofing and editing still sucks, but I'm getting better.

Anyway, given how well you write just for fun, I'm willing to bet you'd be a much better and/or more productive tech writer than me.

Even as full time job, it's way more low key than administrator work - the hours are generally better: 9 to 5 or flex unless under deadline.

It pays well and although some of it is moving to India, it's far less likely to go overseas. End users might not care about where the orginal programming was done, but it doesn't pay to send documentation to India only to pay an American editor to make sure there are no "surprises" in the docs stemming from cultural issues etc.

It's also hard to find tech writers that are strong on the technical end of things. My guessimate based on the tech writers I've met is that maybe 1/2 of the field comes from the world of English majors. They aren't necessarily tech savvy or have had any experience supporting users.