Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 0
Hi all!

I've got one heck of a situation coming up and I'd like some feedback from the this board on what the best thing in the world for me to do is.

Here's the scoop. I am a full-time employee at Saint Louis University. I've been working here for going on four years now, and am darn happy about it. Since I work in a university, I decided that it would be a smart thing to start going to graduate school. I never thought I would, never thought I'd have the opportunity, but here I am. I love it, despite the late night papers.

So here's how this relates to my taxes. As it stands, I get tuition remission since I am a univerity employee. That's a great thing at $670 per credit. As the federal government now has this whole thing set up (weighted for the price of graduate school, etc.) I get a total of 8 & 2/3 credits paid for by the university tax free. (I dunno why it is 8 & 2/3 since most classes are 3 credits, so 9 would have been a more appropriate number...but this is the government's tax code for ya!) After that, I have to pay taxes on the benefit.

I am finishing up my six credit semester right now. (Hurray for me!) I have one make up class to take this summer for three credits. That will put me over the limit by 2/3 of a credit. This coming fall I am taking another two classes for six credits, which will all be over the tax-free limit.

The way this works is that they add the cost of the classes to my paycheck, spread over three months and then the fed, the state, and Saint Louis City will all come in and tax the hell out of it. There's the rub!!

SLU runs on a fiscal year July to June, so the numbers I am going to present are from last year. There will be a very small pay increase this year (maybe), but with the cost of health insurance going up, I will honestly not see any extra monies in my pocket (and may actually take home less).

Here's the numbers for last year:
Gross pay: $36,636.78