Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 0
Hi, I'm new to MLP investing and have a question. I understand the preferred way to invest in MLPs is in a taxable account. However my only investable funds are all in IRAs. My question is , if I invest $20,000.00 or less in an MLP within my IRA, is there any way of knowing if that invested sum would exceed the $1000.00 allowed amount of UBIT and thus trigger the requirement to file and pay tax ? Hope I made sense. Thanks, itch
Print the post Back To Top
Hi, I'm new to MLP investing and have a question. I understand the preferred way to invest in MLPs is in a taxable account.

I disagree. The hidden trap of MLPs is that ownership of an MLP interest opens the investor to the possibility of having to file income tax returns in every state where the MLP operates. Some states have minimum income thresholds; others require a return for $1 of income.

Conversely, most MLPs don't generate much UBI and many generate UBI losses. Should your IRA receive more than $1000 in UBI, the custodian (broker) will usually file the return for the IRA.

All bets are off, however, if Congress reconciles the competing tax cut bills.

Ira
No. of Recommendations: 1
Just got an unpleasant surprise relating to UBI from Fidelity. Last year they were required to file tax return and pay tax from IRA accounts with over $1000 UBI. My only holding with possible UBI is Blackstone Group and they have little UBI so I'm not likely to ever have to file. However, the Fidelity letter says beginning in 2018 if they have to file for me they will charge me $300 for filing. You better believe I'll be looking at my 2017 report from Blackstone very closely. If it looks like I might get hit with that filing fee next year I'll have to re-evaluate holding BX.