Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 2
unfortunately, welcome to the board. i will be replying more, but time is limited now. first of all, be wary of advice from anyone, yea that means even me, but take a lot of advice from everyone and sift through it. most people on this board are very well meaning, some have bigger agendas, and some are more compliant with a good regime than others than others - i glean that from reading over time. i will respond to some specifics now.

'My question concerns the school. She attends a public high school and has been out for the last few days. I will probably keep her at home the rest of the week until we are very comfortable with the routine. In the preliminary conversations with the school nurse, they got all excited about 504 Accomodation paperwork and want me to fill out a bunch of forms.'

i have no experience with the '504 acommodation' but i agree with your instincts regarding information and bureaucrats. the fact is, if you educate yourself, there is no real reason your daughter needs to take syringes to school. this will mean she has a low carb intake at her lunch time, but i am not a low carb fanatic, she can get carbs when she's at home and has the insulin. it also requires that she is on an insulin regime that uses a fast acting insulin, and a very slow 'basal' insulin (or a pump). there are old regimes with intermediate acting insulins that sort of required you to take carbs at a certain time (lunch), and have some additional insulin maybe. your daughter might even be on such a regime now, as a starter, but she should ultimately switch to one like the above, or a pump. a good doctor will advise you about all of this, and if they don't, get another doctor.