===================================================
A/C Loan (7.36%) 7,900 0
Student Loan 1 (6.41%) $18,533 $18,693
Car Loan (4.45%) 8,511 8,685
Student Loan 2 (3.86%) 5,206 5,256
---------------------------------------------------
$40,150 $32,634
======= =======

Well, as is so often the case whenever I start getting a little ahead, along comes a four-figure expense to throw a monkey-wrench into my efforts to get out of debt. It might be a totaled car, an expensive home repair, or a major medical expense.

Anyone who says it's hard to get out of debt is silly. I've been doing it every year for twenty-seven years.</joke>

In this case, the expense was a new air-conditioning unit, as our 13-year-old Builder's Special finally gave up the ghost. After draining my emergency fund dry, I was forced to get a personal loan at a local bank. I'll probably balance transfer it to a credit card--hardly a day goes by when I don't get an BT offer in the mail, and that rate makes me sick to my stomach.

I'm still better off than I was a year ago--September of 2015 my loan balance was more than $52,000. So I'm calling this the Three-Steps-Forward-Two-Steps-Back Shuffle. It's not in the same league as a Happy Dance.

On the plus side, I did also manage to put $537.16 into my Loan Payoff savings fund. Also, I decreased my mortgage by $1070.
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 2
Tough break. At the same time, I'm glad you had an emergency fund to use as your first line of defense. Rebuilding it will be important -- and now you know to make it bigger, eh?

I could be heartless and say you should have gone without AC. However, I live in DC where the temps have been almost 100 and the heat indexes higher than that in the last couple of weeks. AC is not optional for us, and I assume it's not optional for you, either.

Keep grinding away at the debt. You're so right that it's three steps forward and two steps back. You'll get there.

ThyPeace, and it's hard work.