Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 0
Hi,

I am a Canadian citizen and resident, Can I invest in US Stocks/Index funds and a Roth IRA through ameritrade or another online broker? Would my funds have to be in US dollars? Please let me know, thank you in advance.

FoolishlyWise
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 1
You probably want to check out another board, like the Canada (General) board, which is investment related. This board is for non-investing topics like whether there will be a non-Liberal federal government in our lifetime.

You can invest in US securities through any Canadian broker, or through Ameritrade and a few others who offer accounts to Canadians. Commissions on US trades are quite a bit lower with the US brokers, so if you are a frequent trader, that's the better route.

With the Canadian brokers, you can choose to have a US$ account, or a CDN$ account. You can even have a CDN$ account and buy U.S. securities, although you'll pay an exchange rate premium on each buy/sell, so there isn't much reason to do it. I have both CDN$ and US$ accounts at TD Waterhouse, so I can move cash between them with a phone call. If you don't trade that much, the extra convenience may be worth the extra commission.

Don't know about the Roth IRA, though. Since it's a U.S. tax issue, I'm not sure why you would want one.

Fool on, Jerry

I forgot. TD recently added the ability to transfer cash between accounts, including CDN/US accounts, to WebBroker, so I don't have to do it on the phone anymore.

Jerry
Jerry, that's interesting. How do you do that exactly? Do they just take any C$ funds to pay for U$ transactions and vica versa if necessary?

Used to be if you didn't make the conversion yourself they'd charge you for insufficient funds even if they were there sitting in the other side of the account.

No. of Recommendations: 3