Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 2
UVMerrit asked:
In keeping with the principles of diversifying, I am planning on purchasing some bonds or indexed bond funds for my portfolio. I
have received advice that with $100K to invest in bonds that you should build a ladder instead of using a mutual fund.
Comments?

Hello UV,
I am just a novice at this (about one year trying to figure out bonds). Faced with the same problem, I have concluded that bonds are a lot more complicated investments than equities (stocks), yield a lower return over time, take a far bigger tax hit on what you make, have more hidden fees, expenses and risks, and, as a rule, are far more difficult to figure out what you are actually making on your investment.

Their only virtues seem to be diversification, lower volatility and lower risk. Even then, I am continually amazed at the number of people who invest large sums in bonds and bond-like investments that lack diversification and are inherently volatile and risky. Perhaps there is an axiom among brokers that says "If you make an investment instrument too complicated to understand, people will flock to invest in it." Even for 'good' bonds we pay the price of lower long-term returns and all the other disadvantages listed above.

Still, despite the shortcomings, the disadvantages of bonds appear to be a fair trade for at least a small portion of most retirement portfolios--particularly if one has only saved just enough for retirement and not much more. However, there is still no reason to abandon the basic principal that one should not invest in what one does not readily understand. Nor should one pay high fees for simply buying what bonds really are--low-yield IOU's. Using that criteria, here is my own list of what I think I should NOT invest in and what I think I SHOULD consider in in this field:

THE NOTS:
individual corporate issues (nice rates, but no diversification),
callable bonds of any kind,