No. of Recommendations: 0

I am very new to investing and I am trying to do my homework. I am a 33 yr old physician.. I plan to retire in less than 30 yrs or so.. I paid into a 403b for the hospital where I did my training...

I was given advice to take it out and 'roll it into an IRA'. I understand I can not use a Roth IRA because my salary is above the maximum. I already have an account at Vanguard.. and it does seems like a good idea to move it out of my ex-employers plan.

In terms of the asset allocation of the IRA... why should I.. or should I not plop it into Vanguard TARGET RETIREMENT 2025 or 2035?
It seems simple, safe and sound. But... is it advisable??

Thanks
Print the post Back To Top
>> In terms of the asset allocation of the IRA... why should I.. or should I not plop it into Vanguard TARGET RETIREMENT 2025 or 2035?
It seems simple, safe and sound. But... is it advisable??
<<

For a beginning investor, it's not bad. I prefer to stay away from "lifecycle" funds like these because I know what asset allocations I want to keep and have, after 18 years of investing, accumulated enough to have appropriate positions in several asset classes.

But when you're new to investing, sure, it's a perfectly fine place to put your money. If you'd like to learn more about investing and financial planning, at some point you may want to move your money elsewhere. But for the time being, it certainly gives you diversification with a reasonably age-appropriate asset allocation. You could do a lot worse.

#29 (who parks new 401K contributions into Fidelity's Freedom 2020 fund until he rebalances his core funds once a year)
No. of Recommendations: 2