Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 1
I recognize that the VIX positions are a hedge, to be thought of as insurance. But they are options -- worthless after expiration, did we buy (sell) them with the idea that they could become worthless, or will there be an trade alert prior to expiration? May sound like a stupid question, but I've never done this kind of hedge before -- but I do understand insurance.
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 1
I can't speak for the Pro team, but my understanding is that we'll just let this spread position expire worthless if it comes to that. Right now (at least in my case) it has already lost more than 75% of its value, and the VIX appears likely to stay below the lower strike up through expiration. If it does stay below the lower strike, then both calls will expire worthless and we don't have to do anything more. If you want to close out the entire position (buy to close the short call and sell to close the long call in a single trade), you can, but I don't expect any such rec to show up. As I recall, in the rec to set this up it stated that we could have a 100% loss of capital, but since we put in an exceedingly small percentage of the total portfolio this is considered an acceptable loss. I think it also said we might have to do this same trade 2 or 3 times before we make any money on it.

Dan
No. of Recommendations: 0
Thanks for the reply Dan. It is pretty much whatI was thinking, but since this is my first time to use options in this manner (certainly not my first options), I wanted to feel that I was not missing anything.
Dan or whoever is listening,

re: VIX may option