No. of Recommendations: 1
A family member is starting a business and I am tasked with doing the research for the web site. I'm a programmer, and will be doing the development, artwork excluded. I've got some general questions for those of you who have experience dealing with web hosting services. Eventually there will be online ordering of products, but first the plan is to just establish a presence.

What's the best low cost web hosting service?
What e-commerce 'features' are important, required, overhyped?
What hidden costs will I need to worry about?
What is the one feature I can't do without?

Any answers to questions I haven't asked are welcome.

Thanks,
-obelix1
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 6

Haha!! You ask that question as though there might be a finite number of hosting services. I offer hosting and many, many associates of mine offer hosting. "Best" is in the eye of the beholder. While I can recommend a few, including my own, I'd advise you to be more specific - best for what?

For instance, there are Unix-based servers, Windows-based, etc. Since you will be doing development, a lot depends on what you'll be using for development. If it'll be straight html, you can probably use just about anything. If your eventual shopping cart needs a specific environment, you should plan ahead for that. For instance, i believe that Mals-e, which is free, uses MySQL which runs under Unix. Other shopping carts may use SQL Server, etc.

You may need a host that will charge a lower rate for high traffic. Or offer a faster backbone for graphics intensive pages. You get the idea - define your needs, then look for the provider that best meets them.

What e-commerce 'features' are important, required, overhyped?