No. of Recommendations: 2
Well that is the point "IF" you have $1million. Big if. The only reason I am still working is to finish paying off the mortgage and build cash and reach the goal of 650000.00. I am about 18 months away from doing just that. I have delayed taking my Social security benefit as well so I can get a bigger monthly pay out.

I am assuming when I reach 70.5 and Uncle Sugar forces me to take money out of the roll over that I would pay the taxes on the withdrawal and then re-invest the balance in something fairly conservative. With any luck I won't need that money. Unless I am living in a box under bridge and I am standing at a busy intersection with a cardboard sign asking for quarters.

I have worked non-stop since I graduated with my first master's degree for 44 years and 2 months. Since that very first job I have never been without a full time job and I have always contributed to whatever 401K the job offered. As I changed jobs I rolled the money into the roll over IRA. Except the one place that way back in the dark ages offered a pension and I was vested I left that money and that is what is going to provide 50% of my retirement income the other 50% being Social Security.

Once the house is paid off and I hit the saving target I am so done with working full time. Corporate America is a hellish place to work now with all the H1B competition that is preventing salaries from keeping up and eliminating any potential moves..