Skip to main content
No. of Recommendations: 0
Well, while we're at it, here's another QuikBooks question.

I'm planning to buy Quickbooks here soon (until this thread, because it was the only piece of software I had heard much of). I've been keeping my books on paper by hand for the last 3 years. Before anyone groans, let me say that I've learned an awful lot that way and now have a pretty clear idea of what my bookkeeping needs are. It's actually been kinda....fun? Well, it's been educational at least.

My business is fairly simple (1 person massage therapy practice). I keep track of income and about 12 categories of expenses.

- I don't deal with a product (personal services only) (please, no wisecracks about sexual services) so no sales tax.

- I only have a few pieces of equipment (two tables, a chair, and some computer equipment, so I have some simple depreciation. I can't depreciate my hands. :)

- Clients pay at their appointments, so only maybe 2 dozen invoices to clients in a year

- I don't deal with insurance companies directly but I do supply about 3 dozen receipts for clients in a year so they can try for reimbursement themselves.

- I have a relatively steady weekly income with few, if any, seasonal fluctuations.

- My quarterly taxes are fairly straightforward

- etc.

I have two questions:

1. Husband uses Quicken to track household finances. Sounds like Quicken Home & Business might be an easier option? Thoughts?

2. There are 3 versions of QB: basic, pro, and deluxe. I think I need just basic. Does anyone know any more about the other versions that would suggest I need more than the basic?

Thanks for any help you can offer.

Kelly
Print the post  

Announcements

What was Your Dumbest Investment?
Share it with us -- and learn from others' stories of flubs.
When Life Gives You Lemons