Skip to main content
Update
Non-financial boards have been closed.

Non-financial boards have been closed but will continue to be accessible in read-only form. If you're disappointed, we understand. Thank you for being an active participant in this community. We have more community features in development that we look forward to sharing soon.

Fool.com | The Motley Fool Community
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 0
For fasting?

Two hours after breakfast?

Two hours after lunch?

Two hours after dinner?

What percentage of the time do you meet your target ranges?

How long have you managed your diabetes?

Do you wear a medical I.D.?

I'm hoping everyone who posts will answer these questions. And that other folks will come out of lurking and post. :)

Cheers,

Shire
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 2
I do not have a medical ID bracelet but do have an ADA card on my key chain. I have been managing my diabetes since around 2000. My target after fasting is under 120. Generally I only test once a day, unless my fasting sugar is out of whack, in which case I test before meals to see if it was a fluke or an issue to be managed. I also might move my meals up or delay them if my sugars are low or high respectively. I keep all meals to about 60g carbs, 30g for breakfast/midday snacks, and separate meals/snacks by about 3hrs.

Fuskie
Who thinks targets are a great long term goal but the short term challenge should be maintaining consistency...
For fasting?

Used to be 130, but as of yesterday the doctor wants it 120

Two hours after breakfast?

140 2 hours after all meals

Fasting old rules almost 100% It was usually in the low 120's

After meals, probably about 75-80%, with most of the misses below 175.

4 years. Type 2, only medication glucophage

No, but thanks for the reminder. I also take rat poison because of an arhythmia, so I really should. I do carry a copy of my med list and my doctor's card in my wallet.