Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 1
Hi,

I have a dilemma facing me regarding disclosing personal information on a cover letter.  First I need to explain my situation.

For 20 years, I worked in the biotech field as a scientist.  Two and a half years ago, I lost my wife to cancer, leaving me to raise three young children.  While I tried to continue in my chosen field, it became very difficult if not impossible to work in a research lab in an effective and productive manner while dealing with raising kids as a single parent.  For instance, several day's worth of a study would have to be scrapped if I had to go pick up a sick child from day care.  Needing to leave precisely at 5:00 pm to pick up children made it impossible to perform experiments that extended past that time (as laboratory research work will often require).

In a nutshell, I needed to find a career that allowed me to have a more reliable 9 to 5 type schedule that could withstand the rigors of my need to leave work on behalf of my children at times, without loss of productivity.  A career where I could put down my work for the day at any time and return to it the next day, a scenario that was difficult at best in my scientific career.

I was able to very satisfying work in the quality assurance area of my company, fulfilling my criteria.  I had to take a significant cut in pay, however, but through other means I've been able to maintain the same kind of household income we had before my wife passed away.  Unfortunately, after 2 years now, there is a distinct possibility of a lay-off in the coming months at my company.