Skip to main content
No. of Recommendations: 6
When I was in my first year of law school I was married and pregnant. I wanted to spend as much time at home as possible, so I decided I would put in 8 "billable hours" of study per day, and call it a day -- and that included class time. I studied in the library and at home. I worked hard but I didn't let it become all-consuming. The first semester, I was totally paranoid about the people who spoke in class all the time and were always talking loudly about their study groups in the student lounge. I thought they were going to blow me out of the water for sure.

Guess what? When grades came out, I was number one in my class.

My advice, for what it's worth, is to avoid the other students and their questions like the plague. The "broken record" technique can be a lifesaver at times: "Sorry, I don't like to talk about class on my break time." "Sorry, I'm on a break and I'd rather not talk about law right now." If they ask you direct questions about how such-and-such is coming along, just say "fine" and refust to elaborate. I guess, bottom line, I think you're wrong -- you CAN close yourself off from the others, at least psychically.

This will, possibly, involve a little social ostracism. It wasn't a problem for me because I had a life already, but I can see how it might be a problem for you. Can you try to spend some time doing something other than law school? Maybe take a yoga class or painting class or whatever? What about that new guy?

Finally, the first semester is the worst because nobody has gotten any grades and it's driving them nuts. After grades come out, it should calm down some.

Hang in there and email me if you want to chat further.
Print the post  

Announcements

UGC Disclosure Notice Regarding Credit Card Posts