Skip to main content
No. of Recommendations: 0
Hi all,
I'm a Fool newbie and an overall investing newbie as well. I am 28 yrs old and looking to start a Roth IRA. I've been married for two months now (thank-you). I've read almost every post and every article I can find as well as signed up for the free month of Champion Fund here at Fool. All this reading has me one thing… very confused. I think I'm over-thinking this decision and it's costing me valuable time. I need to pick a company to get my IRA through, so I've broken down and decide to ask fellow fools for help. I've read all about fees and this, that and the other. I'm a very aggressive personality and am looking to invest that way, but be educated about it. I like stocks, mutual funds and possibly ETFs (if I truly understand what they are). I also like to be involved and know where exactly all my money is going. Could someone(s) please give me some advice on whom to go with to start up my Roth IRA? I may do some stock trading on the side, but it would be VERY minimal at this point, if at all.
Oh, and I'll be putting the max in the Roth IRA up front, not making monthly payments. Not sure if I'll be financially fit enough to do this each year, may have to move to monthly payments in the future. Also, I HAVE to have online access; I've recently moved to a small town and no longer get to “the big city” much.

Thanks much in advance!
-Jay from MN
Print the post Back To Top
All this reading has me one thing… very confused.

Two key phrases: "information overload" and "analysis paralysis".

Sometimes more reading is not the answer.

My Advice: Vanguard if you can put off stock trading for a while and will always have at least $5000 in each mutual fund*. Otherwise, Scottrade. (remember that until April 17 you can still contribute for 2005, so you could potentially start out with $8000 in the IRA)