Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 3
The message you're trying to access has been removed from the boards. The most likely reason for this is that the message violated our Fool's Rules about appropriate content. Either that or it was swallowed up by intergalactic space beasts from the planet Xeenu.

Please check out The Motley Fool's Terms and Conditions of Service.

Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 0
Gary:

Looks like the "silverback"'s two year old nephew is already walking on hind legs and sounds like can hear him going.....thump, thumpity, thump!!

listening in tall grass,knee
No. of Recommendations: 0
I am no lawyer, but it seems to me the purpose of patents is to protect small young companies with useful innovations from large predatory companies with the resources to copy/steal their ideas. Patents do give the holders a temporary legal monopoly over the technology. Hitachi has been trying to rip off RMBS for a while and is getting desperate.
No. of Recommendations: 3
I use to be somewhat of an antitrust law expert a few years back. But since I never practiced antitrust law its kind of slipped my mind a bit.

But I'll state something that gives the countersuit some credit: RMBS only sued Hitachi (not any other competitor) and we Fools tended to interpret this as a we will hurt Hitachi so the rest of you industry folks better stay in line.

This would be an intent to monopolize and industry. And many of us expressed this very intent without delving into the legal ramifications.

This said, wil is stand up in court? I don't know. A patent is a legal way to get around the Sherman Act. Plus the burden of proof by preponderance of the evidence will be on Hitachi. And any case Hitachi might make will take years.